Confirmed line-ups: Arsenal vs Luton Town – No Rice, Saka or Jesus for Gunners

By on April 3, 2024

thomas partey arsenal

Arsenal can move back to the top of the Premier League table with a win over Luton Town at the Emirates Stadium tonight.

Our 0-0 draw with Manchester City on Sunday was a terrific result and it extended our unbeaten run to nine games. However, the stalemate gave Liverpool the opportunity to go two points clear at the top of the table. They play Sheffield United on Thursday night so Arsenal can return to the summit for at least 24 hours with a win this evening.

Mikel Arteta has taken the opportunity to make a few changes as we head into a hectic period that sees us play nine games in April. David Raya keeps goal once again while William Saliba and Gabriel Magalhaes maintain their superb partnership in the middle of Arsenal’s back four.

Oleksandr Zinchenko is recalled to start at left-back with Jacub Kiwior making way while Ben White keeps his place at right-back.

Declan Rice is handed a rare breather as he drops to the bench along with Jorginho. Thomas Partey is back in the starting eleven while Emile Smith Rowe gets a start in midfield alongside Martin Odegaard.

Gabriel Martinelli made his return from a foot injury with a late appearance against City at the weekend. The Brazilian international remains on the bench tonight as Reiss Nelson is given a rare chance to impress in attack.

Bukayo Saka limped off against Man City with a knock. He was able to train ahead of this game but Arteta has decided to give his star boy a rest as Saka isn’t named in the matchday squad.

Gabriel Jesus started out wide against City but he’s also rested with the Brazilian named on the bench tonight. Kai Havertz keeps his place up front with Leandro Trossard also retaining his place.

These are the line-ups:


Raya; White, Saliba, Gabriel, Zinchenko; Partey, Odegaard, Smith Rowe; Nelson, Havertz, Trossard

Subs: Ramsdale, Tomiyasu, Kiwior, Rice, Jorginho, Vieira, Jesus, Martinelli, Nketiah.


Kaminski; Kaboré, Mengi, Hashioka; Onyedinma, Mpanzu, Barkley, Doughty; Clark, Townsend, Morris.

Subs: Shea, Berry, Woodrow, Chong, Krul, Johnson, Nelson, Piesold, Chigozie