Confirmed: 3 new signings included as Arsenal announce 2018 pre-season tour squad

By on July 20, 2018


Arsenal boss Unai Emery has announced his 25-man squad for our pre-season tour of Singapore and three of our summer signings are included.

As expected, Bernd Leno, Sokratis and Matteo Guendouzi will all travel with their new team-mates having already begun their pre-season preparations at London Colney.

The trio will get the chance to bond with the Arsenal squad during the trip and hopefully that will help them settle at the club quickly after moving to England this summer.

Unfortunately fellow new signings Stephan Lichtsteiner and Lucas Torreira won’t be making the trip as they are still on an extended break following their exploits at the World Cup.

Mesut Ozil has returned early from his holiday so he’s in the squad along with the likes of Alex Iwobi and Mohamed Elneny as they too are back in training after early exits with their countries in Russia. However, Grant Xhaka, Danny Welbeck and David Ospina won’t be involved after their nations made it past the group stages of the World Cup.

Interestingly, Carl Jenkinson, Chuba Akpom, Jeff Reine-Adelaide, Joel Campbell and Krystian Bielik haven’t been included so it looks like they could all be leaving the club over the coming weeks.

Lucas Perez has been given the nod by Emery so the Spanish attacker will be hoping to impress on the tour as he looks to resurrect his Arsenal career having spent last season out on loan.

Youngsters Emile Smith-Rowe, Joe Willock, Eddie Nketiah and Reiss Nelson will be on the plane and desperate to make an impression on the training staff.

The squad flies out on Sunday in preparation for the International Champions Cup where we’ll come up against Atletico Madrid on July 26th and Paris Saint-Germain on the 28th.

Here is the full squad:

One Comment